asbury-park

About Us

TAPinto.net is a network of more than 95 independently owned and operated local news and digital marketing platforms in New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and Florida. Each site is franchised to a local owner/publisher and provides original, objective, daily local news reporting.  

With local hardcopy newspapers being acquired by national operations or leaving town altogether, TAPinto is often the only local news coverage in the communities we serve.

 

TAPinto does not have a paywall because we believe that all members of the community should be able to be informed and involved in their community, regardless of their socioeconomic background.  

TAPinto’s award-winning local journalists consistently break exclusive stories that impact their communities. In 2023, the New Jersey Society of Professional Journalists honored TAPinto with three Excellence in Journalism Awards.

TAPinto celebrated its 15th birthday in October 2023. It was founded by Michael and Lauryn Shapiro in New Providence, New Jersey. Michael Shapiro is the majority owner. 

 

In 2023, Franchise Business Review named TAPinto.net as a Top Franchise, Most Innovative Franchise, Top Low-Cost Franchise and a Top Franchise for Women.

TAPinto is proud to support many charitable causes including the American Heart Association.  TAPinto's executives, employees and franchisees are members of dozens of community organizations.  

TAPinto offers content marketing, native advertising, social media marketing, exclusive sponsorships, branded content opportunities, email marketing, and traditional online advertising.

TAPinto is available on desktop, mobile, and tablet, and also has a TAPinto App for Android and iPhone.

For more information on marketing on TAPinto, click here.

For more information on franchising a TAPinto local news platform in your area, please click here.

 

 

Name of LLC Territory/Towns Franchised Site Editor Editor Email
Belcom NJ, LLC Asbury Park Matt Doherty mdoherty@tapinto.net
The Convergence/St. Bonaventure University Allegany, NY; Carrollton, NY; Cuba, NY; Ellicottville, NY; Franklinville, NY; Hinsdale, NY; Humphrey, NY; Greater Olean Area Rich Lee greaterolean@tapinto.net
Shark Ventures Barnegat - Waretown Pat Sharkey and Kaitlyn Debarth psharkey@tapinto.net, ksharkey@tapintp.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Basking Ridge/West Millington/Liberty Corner Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Bayonne Steve Lenox

slenox@tapinto.net

Belcom NJ, LLC Belmar/Lake Como Matt Doherty mdoherty@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Berkeley Heights Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Bernardsville and Bedminster Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Bloomfield News, LLC Bloomfield Joe Coletta jcoletta@tapinto.net
E&K Communicatoins LLC Bordentown Elizabeth Meyers emeyers@tapinto.net
LB Media, LLC dba The Breeze Bridgewater/Raritan Audrey Blumberg ablumberg@tapinto.net
Skyway Publishing LLC Camden Neill Borowski nborowski@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Chatham, LLC Chatham Ed Barmakian ebarmakian@tapinto.net
DBK Media LLC Clark David Brighouse dbrighouse@tapinto.net
LLAJ MEDIA, LLC Coconut Creek Leon Fooksman lfooksman@tapinto.net
LLAJ MEDIA, LLC Coral Springs Leon Fooksman lfooksman@tapinto.net
Noteworthy Media LLC Cranford Rebecca Tantillo rtantillo@tapinto.net
Little Blue Bird Enterprises, LLC Denville Lauren Zucchi lzucchi@tapinto.net
Roman Press, INC Doylestown, PA Ed Doyle edoyle@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of East Brunswick East Brunswick Maureen Berzok mberzok@tapinto.net
Sphinx Minerva Group, LLC East Orange Brian Agnew yournews@tapinto.net
Middlesex Media LLC Edison Jacob Turchi jturchi@tapinto.net
News Worx Incorporated Elizabeth Casey Abline cabline@tapinto.net
Beckwill Communications Fair Lawn/Glen Rock Rebecca Greene rgreene@tapinto.net
Hunterdon Media Partnership Flemington/Raritan Audrey Blumberg & Joey Novick ablumberg@tapinto.net, jnovick@tapinto.net
Triple Win, Inc East Hanover/Florham Park Marianne Carillo mcarillo@tapinto.net
LGMB, LLC Franklin Township Malik Lyons mlyons@tapinto.net
Kerri Blair, LLC Hackensack Rebecca Greene rgreene@tapinto.net
Lenox Consulting Hamilton Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net,
Triple Win, Inc Hanover Township Marianne Carillo mcarillo@tapinto.net
Aviator Publishing, LLC  Hasbrouck Heights, Wood-Ridge, Teterboro Faith Armonaitis farmonaitis@tapinto.net
Beckwill Communications Hawthorne Rebecca Greene rgreene@tapinto.net
Hometown News, LLC Hazlet/Keyport Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Thirty and Done Online Publishing Hillsborough Rod Hirsch rhirsch@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Hillside Mike Shapiro mshapiro@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Hoboken Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Hometown News, LLC Holmdel/Colts Neck Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Oasis Media Jersey City Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Halston Media Katonah - Lewisboro New York Tom Walogorsky and Emile Menasche news@halstonmedia.com
Telina LLC Kenilworth Telina Cuppari tcuppari@tapinto.net
TAP into Long Branch, LLC Long Branch Samantha Minchello sminchello@tapinto.net
Sisters Turning Pages, LLC  Linden Donna Eleazer deleazer@tapinto.net
Livingston TAP LLC Livingston Danielle Santola dsantola@tapinto.net
L & L Media LLC Madison 

Marianne Carillo

madisoneditor@tapinto.net
Mahopac News Mahopac, NY Bob Dumas bdumas@tapinto.net
Hometown News LLC Middletown Jeanne Wall jwall@tapinto.net
Presto Group, LLC Millburn/Short Hills Elise Margulis emargulis@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press  Milltown, and Spotswood, LLC Milltown, and Spotswood Dawn Miller dmiller@tapinto.net
Montclair Media Group, LLC Montclair Natalie Hackett nhackett@tapinto.net
Montville News Online LLC Montville Township (includes Montville, Pine Brook and Towaco) Hope White hwhite@tapinto.net
Morristown Publishing, LLC Morristown Leigh O'Neil morristown@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC Mountainside Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
E&K Communicatoins LLC Mount Laurel, NJ Elizabeth Meyers emeyers@tapinto.net
The Neptunes News LLC Neptune/Neptune City Lauren Albrecht lalbrecht@tapinto.net
AEA Enterprises, LLC New Brunswick/Rutgers Chuck O'Donnell codonnell@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press of Berkeley Heights LLC New Providence Bobbie Peer bpeer@tapinto.net
Skyway Publishing LLC Newark Mark Bonamo mbonamo@tapinto.net
Sparta's Local News, LLC Newton Jenny Dericks jdericks@tapinto.net
Arrival Media Group LLC North Hunterdon Jenn Snider jsnider@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press-Warren, LLC North Plainfield, Green Brook, Watchung Brenda Nemcek bnemcek@tapinto.net
North Salem News North Salem, NY Tom Walogorsky northsalem@tapinto.net
Passaic Valley Media LLC Nutley John Lee jlee@tapinto.net
Kerri Blair, LLC Paramus Rebecca Greene rgreene@tapinto.net
Five by the Glades, LLC Parkland, Florida Gina Pfingsten gpfingsten@tapinto.net
Triple Win, Inc Parsippany

Marianne Carillo

mcarillo@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Passaic Valley Steve Lenox

slenox@tapinto.net

Oasis Media Paterson Steve Lenox slenox@tapinto.net
Birch Run Media, LLC Piscataway Ken and Kia Simmons piscataway@tapinto.net
Stateline Media Group, LLC Phillipsburg, NJ Danielle DeGerolamo ddegerolamo@tapinto.net
David Rutherford Plainfield David Rutherford drutherford@tapinto.net
Rein Reports Princeton Richard Rein rrein@tapinto.net
DBK Media LLC Rahway David Brighouse dbrighouse@tapinto.net
Randolph News Online LLC Randolph Wendi Manderioli wmanderioli@tapinto.net
Scotch Plains Online LLC Raritan Bay (Sayreville, South Amboy) John Mooney jmooney@tapinto.net
Navesink Enterprises LLC Red Bank Scott Wingerter swingerter@tapinto.net
Sleek News, LLC Ridgewood James Ochoa jochoa@tapinto.net
BMS & Company, LLC Roselle Bianca Sanchez bsanchez@tapinto.net
Sleek News, LLC Roselle Park Jason DeAlessi jdealessi@tapinto.net
Fred. J. Aun Roxbury, NJ Fred Aun faun@tapinto.net
Scotch Plains Online LLC Scotch Plains-Fanwood John Mooney jmooney@tapinto.net
Somers Record Somers, NY Brian Marschhauser marschhauser@halstonmedia.com
Thirty and Done Online Publishing Somerville Rod Hirsch rhirsch@tapinto.net
TAP Ventures LLC South Brunswick Rob Rakossy rrakossy@tapinto.net
FMS Enews, LLC South Orange/Maplewood Fred Smith fsmith@tapinto.net
Backyard Publishing LLC South Plainfield Darlene Cullen dcullen@tapinto.net
Sparta's Local News, LLC Sparta Jenny Dericks jdericks@tapinto.net
Presto Group, LLC Springfield  Guy Kipp gkipp@tapinto.net
Shark Ventures, LLC Stafford/LBI, NJ Pat and Kaitlyn Sharkey psharkey@tapinto.net and ksharkey@tapinto.net
TAP Into Local LLC Summit Mike Shapiro mshapiro@tapinto.net
Lucky Limited, LLC Tri-Borough (Kinnelon, Butler and Bloomingdale) Sabrina Luciano sluciano@tapinto.net
Union News Online LLC Union Kathy Cryan kcryan@tapinto.net
Presto Group, LLC Verona/Cedar Grove Guy Kipp gkipp@tapinto.net
The Alternative Press-Warren, LLC Warren, NJ Brenda Nemcek bnemcek@tapinto.net
Ferris Publishing LLC Wayne, NJ Jon 'Ferris' Meredith jmeredith@tapinto.net
Presto Group, LLC West Essex Guy Kipp gkipp@tapinto.net
Presto Group, LLC West Orange Elise Marguiles emarguiles@tapinto.net
Lois Jackie, LLC Westfield Jackie Liberman, Tyler Brown

jlieberman@tapinto.net,

tbrown@tapinto.net

AEA Enterprises, LLC Woodbridge and Carteret, NJ Tony Gallotto tgallotto@tapinto.net
Halston Media Yorktown, NY Brian Marschhauser brian.a.marschhauser@gmail.com

 

We are always searching for ways to give our franchisees the tools to make their reporting and coverage transparent, independent and objective, while updating our policies to ensure that all of our sites follow the highest ethical standards for journalism. 

Here is what we have done to continue to build trust with our readers:

SPJ Code of Ethics

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) has served as the preeminent professional association for journalists since 1909.  SPJ publishes a strict code of ethics.  All TAPinto sites are required to adhere to the SPJ Code of Ethics.  You can read more about the Code of Ethics here.

No Editorializing 

While editorial and opinion have their place, TAPinto's mission is focused on reporting the news.  To protect the integrity of reporting, TAPinto maintains a policy that prohibits our franchisees and journalists from engaging in editorialization and opinion journalism. 

No Endorsement of, or Contributions to, Local Political Candidates

Our TAPinto franchises provide readers with important coverage of local government and politics.  To ensure quality, unbiased coverage, as well as the appearance thereof, we adopted a policy that strongly recommends franchisees and their owners not publicly support their local political candidates in any manner.  We also adopted a policy that strongly recommends all TAPinto franchisees and their owners not contribute to political candidates running for local office in their town(s).  We also have strongly recommended to all TAPinto franchisees and their owners and site editors that they refrain from making endorsements of, or otherwise publicly supporting, regional, state and national candidates or elected officials, including, but not limited to, on personal or public social media, via lawn signs, or otherwise.

Disclosure of Ownership

All of our sites are bound by a disclosure policy so our readers know the ownership of each TAPinto franchise.

Disclosure of Perceived or Potential Conflicts of Interest

We require that should a reporter, editor, or franchise owner be a member of the group that is the subject of the story or have a financial or business relationship with the subject of the story, disclosure is prominently noted in the story through an Editor’s Note.

Clear Advertising Disclosures

Lines between news content and advertising at times have become blurred as online news organizations test new advertising products and business models.  All of our content advertising and sponsorship is clearly and conspicuously marked so readers know if they're looking at paid content. 

As always, we welcome feedback from TAPinto readers to help us continue to improve and grow.

Correction Policy

When TAPinto publishes a story and later find out there was a factual mistake/error in it (including misquoting someone), we will publish a corrected version of the story as soon as possible.  This creates greater transparency regarding corrections and creates more accountability with our readers.

If an article needs to be corrected, we will correct the mistake and mark an *asterisk* at the end of the corrected sentence. 

We will then include an italicized "Editor's note" at the bottom (for minor corrections) or the top (for major corrections) of the story with an explanation of the correction. 

For example: Editor's Note: John Symth's name was spelled incorrectly in an earlier version of this story.  

Fact-Checking Policy

All stories are fact-checked prior to publication. If you feel a story includes incorrect facts, please contact the editor of the site using the contact information in the table above.